Nagaland election result 2023 live – two women legislators elected for the first time

BJP-NDPP alliance is likely to get the absolute majority in the 14th Nagaland assembly election. INC and other parties are way behind.

For the first time in the history of Nagaland politics, two women legislators – Hekani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse of the National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), have been elected. Jakhalu and Kruse won the constituencies of Dimapur III and Western Angami in the 14th Nagaland assembly election.

As per the result published on the official website of the Election Commission of India (ECI), the alliance forged by the NDPP and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has bagged 35 seats so far out of the 55 seats declared in the 60-seat-strong Nagaland assembly. The trend shows that the NDPP-BJP alliance is likely to retain the power of Nagaland. Among other fringe parties, the Nationalist Congress Party and the National People’s Party have won five seats apiece.

Among the heavyweights, the outgoing chief minister Neiphiu Rio and deputy chief minister as well as the Nagaland BJP leader Y Patton have won their respective constituencies, viz. Northern Angami and Tyui. After the victory, Patton took to Twitter and greeted the people of Nagaland for having faith in the alliance between the BJP and NDPP again.

The ECI, after the election held on March 24th, announced that there was no re-poll demand in Nagaland.

Leave a comment
scroll to top