BJP-IPFT alliance wins the Tripura Assembly election 2023

The BJP-IPFT alliance successfully retained the political power of Tripura as it bagged 33 seats out of 60, Left-Congress alliance was second.

Tripura Assembly election 2023

The alliance of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), won the Tripura Assembly election 2023 as the coalition crossed the magic figure of 31 in the 60-seat-strong assembly.

The BJP managed to secure 32 seats in the Tripura Assembly election 2023, whereas the IPFT bagged only one seat. The alliance of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)] and the Indian National Congress (INC) got 14 seats in total. The Tipra Motha Party, led by Pradyot Bikram Manikya Deb Barma, which is vocal for a separate Greater Tipraland state, made an immense incursion in the political domain of Tripura and bagged 13 seats.

The All-India Trinamool Congress (AITC), which made a foray into the electoral battlefield of Tripura, lost in all the 28 seats it contested despite conducting a high-profile campaign prior to the poll. The AITC improved its tally from the 2018 assembly election of Tripura in terms of the vote percentage share and secured 0.88% vote share vis a vis 0.30% in 2018.

The BJP-IPFT alliance secured about 51% of votes in 2018 but this year, the percentage of vote share in favour of the coalition fell drastically and stood at 40.23%.

In 2018, there was no alliance between the INC and the Left Front. Individually they secured 1.79% and 44.35% votes, respectively, but this year the grand alliance only managed to garner 35.36% of votes.

The Tripura Assembly election 2023 provided a morale booster to Manik Saha, the outgoing chief minister who replaced his predecessor Biplab Deb. Although the BJP failed to garner an absolute majority in the state, it can still form the government with the IPFT’s support.

Leave a comment
scroll to top